top of page
Writer's pictureRick Jacoby

Economy of Time: Professional time saving tips and protecting your personal time to keep balance...

I am probably the absolute worst to address the topic “Economy of Time.” Lessons of the farm taught me a few key principles: there are 24 hours in a day and we should use them all, don’t quit till the job is done and the work is not going to do itself. These have been guiding factors for most of my life or at least as far back as I can remember. I have taken these ideas and channeled them into my professional life as an educator. The first few years because it was certainly necessary as a new teacher, then because, I do learn things the hard way and finally it becomes habit. I would like to say when I invest I jump both feet in. As previously mentioned I have coached a ton of sports from middle school track and field to high school football, served on numerous school committees, sponsored a ton of clubs, ran a Nationally recognized FFA program and oh yeah taught seven periods a day over 20 years. On top of that I still run a farm and for many years tended to my own livestock. That was exhausting to type let alone to live. I believe about year seven was a pretty good wake up call, my heart took an inventory and I had to decide if I was done as a professional educator. My personal relationships were struggling and I came to a realization that while I was doing a lot with the school, was I doing anything particularly well. Burnout was setting in and I was looking to get out of the profession that had been so fulfilling. That spring I attended a professional development that would not only change the way I did things in my classroom but would change my professional life and give me back the passion for education that I thought was slipping away.

Boy am I glad I attended that conference in Stephenville, Texas that spring. I have found finding my own professional development opportunities to be so much more worthwhile towards not only making me a more effective educator but also finding common ground with others that may be struggling with certain aspects of the job that I may be going through. I will be the first to admit that standard school issued professional development that is thrown at us during the school year is exhausting at times and trying to separate the usefulness of a piece of it in our own classrooms is at best sometimes daunting. I am the classic “Debbie Downer” in the room when we are forced out of our rooms on an in-service to listen to someone who hasn’t been in a classroom in 40 years or possibly never was, talk theories of how to educate today’s student. These are typically set up by someone who doesn’t even ask the staff what it is we need. But did you know you can enroll in professional development opportunities on your own? For years I had no idea, now I am a big advocate for seeking out those opportunities that you can use when you need it. We as educators tell our students to take control of their own education and learning, why don’t we follow our own advice. Some of these professional development opportunities may meet your social media addiction. Opportunities to network with other teachers from across the world to hone your skills. Facebook, Instagram and Twitter have tons of experts and master teachers that truly want to help each other and offer in depth or tid-bit pointers to not only help you but keep you from the “on an island” syndrome. Educational based blog sites are also on the web that can quickly help you with anything you need. These blog sights can allow you to comment which can start conversations with others that may be stuck in the same old same old, offering new ways or fresh approaches to help your teaching. One of my favorite personal professional developments is observing master teachers. These individuals may be down your hall, in your building, district or down the road. Get out there! If you can’t get to them invite them into your room, teachers that are in your field can offer outstanding advice, tips or confirmation that you are doing it right! Youtube has a ton of educational resources to improve your teaching and offering strategies to help you out as an educator. We Youtube things all the time for home improvement, self-help and how to fix your car; why not use it to help you professionally.

Another resource I’ve used over the years are student aides. Something I didn’t have for the first few years in my educational experience until I realized I had to request them. What a savior to a classroom teacher. A dedicated individual to help in the classroom. Student aides can prep materials, make copies, help with the variety of tasks in a day that are mundane but must get done. So many times I thought to myself if I only had an assistant to run to the supply room, take attendance, fill out purchase requisitions and the whole time they were available. I have also used student aides to tutor, read to and help struggling students in a class. FERPA does not allow disclosure of students grades to another student (34 CFR Part 99 - FAMILY EDUCATIONAL RIGHTS AND PRIVACY), so allowing students to grade student work that goes in the grade book is a no-no. However, having student aides grade formative assessments and offer feedback is considered peer grading and can be utilized for improvement of student grades.       

Teacher burnout is a real thing, it was described in an article by Psychology Today as “a state of chronic stress that leads to physical and emotional exhaustion, cynicism, detachment, and feelings of ineffectiveness and lack of accomplishment” (Tapp, 2020). As I stated earlier it’s a real thing to feel “on an island” as a teacher. I feel it’s truly essential to establish a healthy work community. Being able to rely on, vent to and converse with others in your field that get it. We have to be real that the general public and often our family’s views on our profession is we got it made. Summers off, winter and spring vacations and most holiday’s off. They don’t understand that our product isn’t a thing, it isn’t paper or money it’s human beings?

That comes with a lot of stress and anxiety, if you are in this business for the right reasons. Having quality relationships with peers in education is a must. I say quality because when you are venting about the board, administration or one of the other thousand things that can happen in your day you need someone to vent to that understands. People that are trusted that won’t run down the hall and sell you out but lets you blow off the stress and anxiety. Finding balance in your personal life is also a key. Don’t stop taking care of yourself, work out, read a non-educational based book. Don’t stop being yourself, if your goofy, incorporate that goofball into your teaching. Devote time to yourself, join a recreational league, hurling dodge balls at other humans at the local rec center is therapeutic! If you’re into the outdoors, get outside! Hunt, Fish, hike, don’t let the job keep you from being yourself. Devote time to your faith, family and friends. I had a wise old man (Joe Stemo) tell me one time “that if you are troubled, if you are sick, if you are dying or when you die school officials while sad won’t be by your side. Your faith, your family and your friends will be so you better put them first. Besides if you aren’t at school tomorrow you can be assured a substitute will be in your room.”




References:

34 CFR Part 99 - FAMILY EDUCATIONAL RIGHTS AND PRIVACY. (n.d.). Retrieved April 15, 2020, from https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/34/part-99


Tapp, F. (2020, February 26). Teacher Burnout: Causes, Symptoms, and Prevention. Retrieved April 15, 2020, from https://www.wgu.edu/heyteach/article/teacher-burnout- causes-symptoms-and-prevention1711.html

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page