top of page
Writer's pictureRick Jacoby

Learning Management Systems for on the Go Instruction

For my Learning Management System (LMS), I am using Google Classroom. During the spring semester and remote learning through the initial onset of COVID, I actually had already downloaded the Google Classroom app. We had to upload our assignments for the week by Monday morning, so I would often upload things on Sunday, but I found out that you can also upload supplemental materials, like a YouTube video, on your phone. I also appreciated the mobility because I didn’t have to be tied to my computer all day, I could go out and work around the house after the school hours, but I would still get notifications from the Classroom on my phone. I am a huge fan of the G Suite because you can access any of their applications on your phone. More often than I would like to admit, I have to reference a Google Doc or Sheet during my day-to-day duties, having all of these apps on my phone makes things so much more convenient and efficient. Since most schools have always been in-person, until COVID, several of the resources that we use, as educators, involve labs or other hands-on activities that work best when students are in the classroom together. Since we are likely going to have another stretch of remote learning, I plan to take some of the resources that I have found online or received from other educators and make them into an experience that students can still take advantage of online. Although we are most likely going to end up teaching online again, I still think it is relevant that students are offered the opportunity to be hands-on learners. With online learning, there are other things that need to be pondered, like how to assess students and how to keep students engaged. The three principles of the Universal Design for Learning (UDL) involve engagement, representation, action and expression. While teaching online, we need to make sure to commit to the principles of UDL. We know that the content must be meaningful, encourage competency, welcome student opinions, create opportunities for student collaboration, enhance student-teacher relationships and promote mastery of the content (Pino-James, 2015). Although, this is a challenge while online learning, I tend to promote the principles of UDL by uploading interesting YouTube videos, EdPuzzles and podcasts. Allowing students collaboration through G-Suite apps to provide purposeful representation and expression as well as many educational apps that I have found over the years such as polleverywhere, kahoot and Kahn Academy. Providing opportunities for student opinions and feedback, continually evaluating student progress and encouraging relationships between students and myself. Several studies have proven that student-teacher relationships decrease student absenteeism, increase student self-regulation skills, provide essential self-motivation skills and promote effective communication (Why Strong Teacher Relationships Lead to Student Engagement and a Better School Environment, 2019).


References:

Pino-James, N. (2015, December 11). Golden rules for engaging students in learning activities. Retrieved August 13, 2020, from https://www.edutopia.org/blog/golden-rules-for-engaging-students-nicolas-pino-james


Why strong teacher relationships lead to student engagement and a better school environment. (2019, April 29). Retrieved August 13, 2020, from https://www.waterford.org/education/teacher-student-relationships/

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page