top of page
Writer's pictureRick Jacoby

Re-branding education within your school

As an educator, it is vital to always be thinking about how to further your education and reflect on your lessons. Even though I have been in the classroom for over 20 years, there are several things that this class has encouraged me to think about relating to ‘re-branding’ my classroom. Re-branding education? For years I felt, why do we need to change the way we educate children? I mean I feel like a well educator individual my generational counterparts seem knowledgeable of the worlds happenings and can function. This question framed in another way during this course. I think the way we educate will always come down to core principles that educational theorists came up with long ago, but re-branding those theories to fit the modern-day learner is essential for them to move forward. I had a lot of fun over these eight weeks planning lessons with the use of learning management systems, I could easily differentiate for students using those platforms and assign material to help ALL students master content. I am excited to use more technology, especially in my weight training classes. I plan to show more YouTube videos from professional athletes and collegiate coaches and I’m excited to implement a lesson where students reach out to athletes and coaches, alike, to build connections and network. Making their learning mobile fits right into work in the weight room as most students bring in phones to listen to music, I could put workout possibilities that are accessible from their mobile devices. I look forward to planning lessons that student athlete captains can take with them back to their team and lead their teams not only to victory, but also to a better version of themselves. I look forward to encouraging students to pursue their dreams by working hard through a process of goal setting in order to get where they want to be. Teachers influence the direction and development of society and they have the ability to be life-changing for their students. Teachers have so much responsibility because we are role models, mentors, heroes, and for some students, even parent figures (Henry, 2019). I’m also a firm believer in learning by doing, I think that as educators we need to model what reflection looks like for our students.



References:

Henry. (2019, December 04). Why are teachers important in our society? they have  influence. Retrieved September 03, 2020, from https://www.uopeople.edu/blog/the-importance-of-teachers/

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page